Wednesday, August 7, 2013

Pub Life: 20 Websites & Blogs You Shouldn't Miss

Before I started seriously pursuing publication, I sent out a truly horrible query letter.  I broke every rule in the book without even realizing it.  To this day, the sight of that first query letter makes me cringe. Sound familiar? We've all been through the newbie phase at one point or another.  Industry blogs & websites are one of the best resources for learning how to take your writing career to the next level.  Here is a list of some of the great blogs and websites I've used.  They've provided invaluable tips and information for learning more about the industry. They've also helped me become a better writer.

There are so many other wonderful online resources for writers.  What other publishing blogs/websites do you follow?

Industry Blogs & Websites
Absolute Write  www.absolutewrite.com
Galley Cat  www.galleycat.com
Lit Reactor  www.litreactor.com
NA (New Adult) Alley  www.naalley.com
Publisher's Weekly  www.publishersweekly.com
Writer's Digest  www.writersdigest.com
Writer Unboxed  www.writerunboxed.com
YA Lit Chat  www.yalitchat.ning.com

Literary Agent Blogs
Jennifer Laughran (Andrea Brown Literary Agency)  www.literaticat.blogspot.com
Jenny Bent (The Bent Agency)  www.jennybent.blogspot.com
Rachelle Gardner (Books & Such Literary Agency)  www.rachellegardner.com

Query/Submission Blogs & Websites
Agent and Editor Wishlist  www.agentandeditorwishlist.tumblr.com
Agent Query  www.agentquery.com
Literary Rambles  www.literaryrambles.com
Query Shark  www.queryshark.blogspot.com
Query Tracker  www.querytracker.net

Writer/Editor Blogs
Rachel Russell  www.rachelrussell.wordpress.com
The Bookshelf- Kate Brauning  www.katebrauning.com/blog
The Daily Dahlia- Dahlia Adler  www.dailydahlia.wordpress.com
The Inbetweeners  www.theinbetweenerslit.wordpress.com



Chanel writes New Adult contemporary romance and Young Adult thrillers.  Her New Adult debut, I SEE LONDON…, will be released by Harlequin (HQN) in January 2014, followed by a sequel later in the year.  She is represented by Kevan Lyon of Marsal Lyon Literary Agency.  You can follow her on Twitter and Facebook or on her own website.

4 comments:

  1. I've cut back on the industry blogs that I follow, but that's not saying much. I still have to read them for my QT Publishing Pulse posts. :)

    Great round up, Chanel.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! And thanks for all of your hard work with QT!

      Delete
  2. Awesome round-up, Chanel! I love this. What a great reference tool.

    ReplyDelete